Bright Side – Kim Holden

bright side

Book Description

Secrets. 
Everyone has one. 
Some are bigger than others. 
And when secrets are revealed, 
Some will heal you … 
And some will end you. 

Kate Sedgwick’s life has been anything but typical. She’s endured hardship and tragedy, but throughout it all she remains happy and optimistic (there’s a reason her best friend Gus calls her Bright Side). Kate is strong-willed, funny, smart, and musically gifted. She’s also never believed in love. So when Kate leaves San Diego to attend college in the small town of Grant, Minnesota, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with Keller Banks. 

They both feel it. 
But they each have a reason to fight it. 
They each have a secret. 

And when secrets are revealed, 
Some will heal you … 
And some will end you. 

Divas Thoughts

If it weren´t for the sob worthy ending then the story would receive a lesser rating.

From the very beginning I was trying harder than hard to get into the story but my surroundings caught my attention more than this book. I bought this book because I adored the simple ( blinding orange) cover and thought, after reading the book description, I´d be getting something dramatic. Like….WOW dramatic. In a „knock me over“ fashion.

What did I get to read instead? A story that dragged on and on and then became utterly sad.

The first 60 somthing percent were ( excuse me for being so blunt ) boring. It took me a few times to really get into the story because there was nothing that grabbed me. The way it all started, the characters, the non existant build-up….all that made me wonder why I was putting myself through it all. I´m not saying the book was the worst I´ve read. It wasn´t. But it definitely wasn´t the best either. The last part of the book was actually picture perfect! 100% purely emotional. The end had me in an ugly crying fit for a few hours. How damn sad!

Bright Side is basically about a young woman who has been through the worst, but still finds a way to be optimistic. That´s why the heroine, Kate, is called Bright Side by her friend, Gus ( she also goes by Katherine). Anyways….life seems halfways fine ( your usual programm) until a reader hits the last part of the book and then BAM! Automatically, the crying begins. And I just couldn´t stop!

Now….I´m not sure if the highly emotional ending makes up for the rest of the book or not. And that´s what makes this one so hard to rate. If I were to rate the first 60% then I´d say it deserves a 2. But since I really love the cover and I cried so much I´m gonna go ahead and give it a 3 ( I don´t cry easy….so take my word for it…..it´s unbelievably sad)

Would I recommend this book?

No. I wouldn´t.

Would I re-read this book?

Nope. Not my cup of tea.

The Divas are giving Bright Side, by Kim Holden, 3 out of 5 champagne glasses

pag_11mod 3 002

Leave a Reply

