Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

ugly love_cover_FINAL

Book Description

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Divas Thoughts

There were three reasons why I wanted to read this book SOOO badly.

  1. The cover ( the cover alone should receive a 5 out of 5 rating!)
  2. the book description ( caught my attention )
  3. well, D´uh. It´s a Colleen Hoover novel. ( oh, do I love Colleen Hoover´s writing )

After reading her little novella, Finding Cinderella ( which was cute and all), I was more than happy to dive into something new from this author. Something awesome that would make me cry in a way only Colleen Hoover could make me.

I was ready. God, I couldn´t wait to get my hands on this one. I felt like I was standing in the cold, infront of some electronic store for hours, eager to be the first to get my hands on the newest Playstation. Well, I got the book. I read the book. Now, after reading Ugly Love I feel kind of unsatisfied.

After reading super, emotionally powerful books by the author before I thought there wasn´t a story she couldn´t write about.

Maybe I was wrong.

Ugly Love didn´t do anything for me. I tried. I really did. I can´t decide if it was the writing, the story in general, or the characters that ruined it for me….but I felt nothing. Tate and Miles ( main characters ) were charmless figures for me. I disliked both. Tate was this slouchy heroine who was weak. Throughout the story her behavior didn´t improve. Normally, a weak character grows slowly, or gains strength through small acts. Not this one. But what was worse for me was Miles took advantage of Tate.

And the drama in this book didn´t touch me either. Miles had a past. Okay. But I´m at a point where I´m thinking: „ Don´t we all have an ugly past?“ . There´s only so much ugly drama you can take in while reading a novel. I was far from impressed.

I´m not saying I hated this book. I didn´t. It just wasn´t what I was used too by this author. The story might be for others really good….just not so much for me. I´ll still rate this book with a fairly good rating because I adore the cover and the author. If it weren´t for those 2 facts then I´d definitely be giving this one less. And whats also great is that this book is a stand-alone. In my opinion…I´m glad that authors are going back to writing just a solid 1 book story. They´re so rare these days.

Would I recommend this book?

I´d recommend Ugly Love to any COHO fans. It wasn´t my cup of tea, but yeah. Why not.

Would I re-read this book?

Probably not.

The Divas are giving Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover 3 out of 5 champagne glasses

pag_11mod 3 002

Leave a Reply

