It Ain´t Me, Babe ( Hades Hangmen #1 ) Tillie Cole

it ain´t me babe

Book Description

Sinning never felt so good…

A fortuitous encounter.

A meeting that should never have happened.

Many years ago, two children from completely different worlds forged a connection, a fateful connection, an unbreakable bond that would change their lives forever…

Salome knows only one way to live—under Prophet David’s rule. In the commune she calls home, Salome knows nothing of life beyond her strict faith, nor of life beyond the Fence—the fence that cages her, keeps her trapped in an endless cycle of misery. A life she believes she is destined to always lead, until a horrific event sets her free.

Fleeing the absolute safety of all she has ever known, Salome is thrust into the world outside, a frightening world full of uncertainty and sin; into the protective arms of a person she believed she would never see again.

River ‘Styx’ Nash knows one thing for certain in life—he was born and bred to wear a cut. Raised in a turbulent world of sex, Harleys, and drugs, Styx, unexpectedly has the heavy burden of the Hades Hangmen gavel thrust upon him, and all at the ripe old age of twenty-six—much to his rivals’ delight.

Haunted by a crushing speech impediment, Styx quickly learns to deal with his haters. Powerful fists, an iron jaw and the skillful use of his treasured German blade has earned him a fearsome reputation as a man not to be messed with in the shadowy world of outlaw MC’s. A reputation that successfully keeps most people far, far away.

Styx has one rule in life—never let anyone get too close. It’s a plan that he has stuck to for years, that is, until a young woman is found injured on his lot… a woman who looks uncannily familiar, a woman who clearly does not belong in his world, yet a woman he feels reluctant to let go…

Contemporary Romance/New Adult Novel.

WARNING: Contains sexual situations, violence, taboo subjects, offensive language and mature topics. Recommended for age 18 years and up*

Divas Thoughts

Once upon a time…there was a fence.

It´s hard to tell what I loved most about this book because there were alot of things I really enjoyed. Unfortunately…..there were also the things I could have done without.

The idea of colliding 2 different worlds with one another is fantastic. I loved to read about the bad-ass, brutal MC´s and the passionate nutcases from a cult. That was exciting to no end!

I also enjoyed the lovestory between Styx and Mae. It wasn´t unique but it fit the story well.

The whole „ I´m gonna beat the shit out of you and kill your sorry ass“ theme was realistic. In my opinion…..I thought the author did her homework more than well ( as she very well explained that in the author´s note) Same goes for the cult side. Very extreme and scary. The author shows a reader what these extreme believers are capable of.

The fact that the author used Greek Mythology was also grand! The hero´s name, the MC´s name, and the lovestory was all connected with Hades and Persephone. Styx / River was named after one of the rivers from Hades….and the biker club was called Hades Hangmen. So, another, complete different world added to the story. The bikers even lived out a ritual from the old Greek days ( putting 2 coins on a dead bodies eyes to pay the ferry on their way to Hades..)

Now to the characters:

Styx/ River was as tough as they come. He was the President of the Hades Hangmen. A sexy as sin young guy who was feared by his enemies and adored by the „ bitches“. I enjoyed his character alot but I couldn´t picture him as he was described. He was possessive and he had a kind side to him….but the sexiness was more in the background for me than all the events. ANYWAYS….what made his character more interesting for me was his disability. No fucked-up- ness. He was as normal as a biker can be….:-)

Salome….or Mae was the complete opposite of Styx and his world of bikers. She was innocent, kind, and quite dull * laughing* I´d like to refer to her as a beautiful abused chruch mouse. The place where she came from was creepy as shit and I was sooooo rooting for her to find out about the real world.

The only…..yes, ONLY thing I disliked about this book was the word „ bitch“. I´m usually a huge fan of using that word ( and many other cuss words, for that matter) myself, but seriously: Bitch was used as a term of endearment. I get the biker language and all…it was just alot of BITCH for one book. „ Bitch gone“, „ Bitch died“, „ Where´s my bitch?“….

NOTE: That was not the original Dialogue

The love Triangle, the fear, all the blood, the murder, the sex….it was all exciting and I just cannot wait to get my hands on the next installment of the series!

My favorite character from the book would absolutely be the fucked up Flame. Dangerous as hell and I´m totally eager to find out what he has to offer!

Have I mentioned the cover? Loved it! And the Title? Now….I´ve been singing It Ain´t Me, Babe from Johnny Cash for hours ( I know the song isn´t from Johnny Cash, but I loved his version much better) and I will forever connect that book with the song…or the other way around!

The Divas are giving It Ain´t Me, Babe by Tillie Cole 4 out of 5 champagne glasses

pag_11mod 3 002

Leave a Reply

