Reckless – Cornelia Funke

 

Reckless

Book Description

Ever since Jacob Reckless was a child, he has been escaping to a hidden world through a portal in his father’s abandoned study. Over the years, he has made a name for himself as a finder of enchanted items and buried secrets. He’s also made many enemies and allies–most important, Fox, a beautiful shape-shifting vixen whom Jacob cares for more than he lets on.

But life in this other world is about to change. Tragedy strikes when Jacob’s younger brother, Will, follows him through the portal. Brutally attacked, Will is infected with a curse that is quickly transforming him into a Goyl–a ruthless killing machine, with skin made of stone.

Jacob is prepared to fight to save his brother, but in a land built on trickery and lies, Jacob will need all the wit, courage, and reckless spirit he can summon to reverse the dark spell–before it’s too late.


Divas Thoughts

I bought this book 2010, when it just came out. The first thing that caught my eye was the cover. It looked pretty creepy and since I was in some kind of creeped phase, while shopping, I decided to buy this book and give it a try. Uuuh…..I don´t really know what to say about this book, other than it was a little less than OK. Let me explain why.

The writing style felt plump, dry and driven. I wanted to get into the story, but I had a hard time because nothing really made any sense. After a few pages I got thrown into the wacky hidden world with no feedback on the characters at all. Strange.

I also struggled with the characters. They felt stiff and not interesting enough for me to continue the book. BUT, since I´m a strong believer in reading a book to the bitter end, I dragged myself through page after page, hoping I would find something that would grab my attention. But there wasn´t anything.

The story had potential if it were written by someone else- I could easily see another paranormal author take this story and turn it into an exciting one. The story sounded so interesting. I thought it was interesting…if only there were some more sparks, action, emotions, etc….and less confusion.

Funny thing is: After I finished this book I googled the author and then it hit me hard. I should have known. Lol. This book was originally written and published in German. I never knew that. When I read the original book title I laughed so hard because it has nothing to do with the english title. ( The movie title translations have that same issue. THAT SUCKS!) „Steinernes Fleisch“ means Stoney Flesh…not Reckless. Besides….Reckless was the main characters last names. ( I´m really really trying to understand why the author used that and why…this is so confusing..just like the story…) And no….I didn´t google that because I am half german. So, the writing style didn´t surprise me at all anymore after I found out where this book came from. Germans tend to have a unique ( I´m trying to put it nicely ) way of storytelling. And I am not very fond of it because of the negatives I´ve mentioned above. I even tried to read this book in german to see if there was a difference from the english format…..and nope. There´s no difference at all.

It´s also sad to say that I won´t be reading the second installment of this series.

Would I recommend this book?

  • Not sure. Maybe it´s just not my „ cup of tea“

Would I re-read this book?

  • Nope. Not in any language ever again. After reading this book in 2 different languages, I can safely say that it probably wouldn´t be any better in French, Italian, or Russian.

The Divas are giving Reckless by Cornelia Funke 2 out of 5 champagne glasses

pag_11mod 3 002  This book can be purchased through AMAZON

Leave a Reply

