Death of a Waterfall ( Hayden Falls Saga #1) Kara Leigh Miller

Death of a Waterfall

Death of a Waterfall by the lovely Kara Leigh Miller was such a delight to read! I felt like someone sucked me in the story, chewed on me, and then spit me out again. And the feeling I had when I finished the book ( it´s not a great feeling, really!) just won´t let me go!

When I first read the title I thought someone would die in a waterfall. After that….I thought about the movie The Last Mohican with Daniel Day Lewis. Remember the scene when one of the Monroe sisters jumped off the cliff near the waterfall because her love was killed just minutes before? ( that was some dramatic move, I´m telling you!)
So….ANYWAYS…where was I? Oh yes….Death of a Waterfall. The scene I imagined wasn´t nearly like this story. AT ALL!

The young college student,Teghan, lived a very exhausting life. Living her life to always please others who are close to her, just so no one would be unhappy. That kind of behavior comes with a high price. Meaning: Teghan doesn´t know how to live a life on her own, without others from her family making decisions for her. And of course, all the decisions are only for Teghans own good. Living with a father who is more than an obnoxious ( let´s not forget the term `control freak` ), Teghan has to find ways to live her life to where she and her father are both comfortable with a situation. The only two right choices Teghan made was dumping her boyfriend Alex and deciding to live in a dorm. Oh, but don´t think her life was easy after that. Teghan´s ex, Alex, can´t seem to leave her alone and makes a point out of trying to get her back, since that´s what everyone else wants. No one understood why Teghan left the suffocating / smothering perfect Alex ( oh I do!) . Rob Jacobs ( Teghan´s father) was set on bringing the two back together, because he had this sick vision of a perfectly controlled life. And if that meant Teghan would stay unhappy with the perfect guy, then Rob was more than okay with that.

And then….BOOM! Teghan falls in love with Alex´s roommate Donnie and wants to start living free. Free from Alex and free from her old ways. After a whole lot of drama, Donnie and Teghan end up dating secretly ( they don´t want to hurt anyone´s feelings….oh boo hoo! ) and Teghan is happy! The feelings she starts to feel while she´s around Donnie give her life a new meaning. When Teghan´s dad meets her new boyfriend, he is anything but happy and wants to prevent their relationship to get anymore intense.
TO LATE daddy. lol

When Teghan gets pregnant with Donnie´s child all hell breaks loose! I´m telling you people……this book wasn´t funny! It was a gut wrenching,/ tummy in knots story! I was constantly rooting for Teghan and Donnie, but the chances for them to live their happily ever after were almost down to zero. No one approved of Teghan´s choices and batshit crazy daddy went to extremes to turn things back to picture perfect again.

There were scenes in this book that made me want to hug Teghan and tell her everything will be okay. And then I had some trouble understanding her and her actions. But given what happened to her and Donnie, I couldn´t blame her for doing anything stupid or reckless.

This book was filled with strong emotions and even stronger actions. Alot of scenes made me want to call the cops ( I know I know….the thought is soo stupid.)
This book just shows you that money has power and that love can´t survivie all the bitterness life has to offer. Or can love survive? I know I have absolutley no clue because of the pretty damn good ending…..
That´s another issue I have with this book. It has one of the worst cliffhangers EVER! When I finally got settled into my already damaged side of the couch, I hit a freaking blank page!! AAAAARGH! The end had me so mad that I wanted to hunt the author down and cover her in honey and then dump a sack of feathers over her! 🙂 lol
But other than that…..I really loved the story. It was a dramatic- fun read and I really can´t wait for the second book to come out!

The Divas are giving Death of a Waterfall 4 our of 5 Champagne glasses.

Leave a comment